FANDOM


Todd's Pop Song Reviews

Todd's Pop Songs 2013

Created by
Produced by
Starring
Produced
148
Running Time
10-20 minutes
Website

Todd's Pop Song Reviews is where ToddInTheShadows takes a look at current charting (often bad) pop songs. While doing the review, Todd is enshrouded in shadow to enhance his mystery. In the beginning of every episode, he is seen playing his piano, which he has been playing for many years; and is usually playing the song that is featured in the review (unless the episode is of a Top 10 list, for which he plays a song of choice from the year of the list). The shadows conceal who he is as he could be just about anyone from a government spy to a humble church official.

Running gags include "Finish the Rhyme!" (to point out absurd rhymes), "NOT A RHYME" (for when the artist uses words that don't rhyme), and Todd's ethnicity. Pictures of Todd not in the dark show he is not white, but it is unknown what his true race is. From 2011-2012, there was also a subplot about his unrequited love for Obscurus Lupa, and his rejection of The Nostalgia Chick, crossing over into several other TGWTG shows. It saw its resolution in To Boldly Flee, with an epilogue in Todd's review of "Want U Back".

See also Todd's Pop Song Reviews/From the Vault for Todd's reviews prior to joining TGWTG.com.

EpisodesEdit

Title Description Released
1 "BlahBlahBlah" by Ke$ha ft. 3OH!3 ToddInTheShadows makes his TGWTG debut! Will he live to regret it? Is Ke$ha's latest song worse than Tik Tok? April 25, 2010
2 "Sexy Bitch" by David Guetta ft. Akon Akon tries not to be disrespectful towards a girl and what does he come up with? May 4, 2010
3 "Imma Be" by The Black Eyed Peas Todd views another one of the Black Eyed Peas' idiotic doings. May 15, 2010
4 "Telephone" by Lady Gaga ft. Beyoncé A music video that has nothing to do with the song's title. Hooray.. May 29, 2010
5 "Carry Out" by Timbaland ft. Justin Timberlake JT and Timbaland are back. This time with fast food sex jokes. Oh boy... June 8, 2010
6 "Eenie Meenie" by Sean Kingston & Justin Bieber Eenie Meenie Miney Mo Lover??? June 17, 2010
7 "Your Love Is My Drug" by Ke$ha Gosh.. I feel like I'm gonna pass out. July 3, 2010
8 "Alejandro" by Lady Gaga Todd views another one of Gaga's crazy music videos. July 16, 2010
9 "OMG" by Usher ft. will.i.am When did Usher Raymond become cleaner than Will Smith? July 29, 2010
10 The Top Ten Worst Hit Songs of 1987 The year we figured out pop music was down the tubes again...
  • 10. "Funkytown" - Pseudo Echo
  • 9. "Shake You Down" - Gregory Abbott
  • 8. "Will You Still Love Me" - Chicago
  • 7. "Ballerina Girl" - Lionel Richie
  • 6. "Head to Toe" - Lisa Lisa & The Cult Jam
  • 5. "Tonight, Tonight, Tonight" - Genesis
  • 4. "Carrie" - Europe
  • 3. "The Next Time I Fall" - Peter Cetera & Amy Grant
  • 2. "Nothing's Gonna Change My Love for You" - Glenn Medeiros
  • 1. "Songbird" - Kenny G
August 13, 2010
11 "Hey, Soul Sister" by Train Who gave Pat Monahan the idea that building a song around ripping off INXS was cool? August 26, 2010
12 "Cooler Than Me" by Mike Posner Todd finds many ways to think that he's cooler than the singer. September 8, 2010
13 "Club Can't Handle Me" by Flo Rida ft. David Guetta The Club may not be able to handle you Flo Rida, but Todd sure can. October 27, 2010
14 "Like a G6" by Far East Movement ft. The Cataracs & Dev The first Asian hit song in decades and we get another generic club song. November 13, 2010
15 "Deuces" by Chris Brown ft. Tyga & Kevin McCall Todd does his best The Crying Game impression. November 29, 2010
16 "Whip My Hair" by Willow Smith How does Will Smith's daughter succeed her father's career in music? December 16, 2010
17 Top 6 Worst Songs of 2010 (I Didn't Already Cover) Todd tries his hardest to make his fans feel his pain from his bout with MRSA.
  • 6. "I Like It" - Enrique Iglesias ft. Pitbull
  • 5. "In My Head" - Jason Derulo
  • 4. "Teach Me How to Dougie" - Cali Swag District
  • 3. "All the Right Moves" - OneRepublic
  • 2. "My First Kiss" - 3OH!3 ft. Ke$ha
  • 1. "Take It Off" - Ke$ha

If Todd had made an honest Top 5 Worst Hit Songs of 2010, it would've been as follows:

Todd also gives some commentary for songs he feels he needs to mention:

  • "Billionaire" - Travie McCoy ft. Bruno Mars
  • "Mine" - Taylor Swift
  • "Dynamite" - Taio Cruz
  • "Airplanes" - B.o.B ft. Hayley Williams
  • "If I Die Young" - The Band Perry
  • "California Gurls" - Katy Perry ft. Snoop Dogg
  • "Just a Dream" - Nelly
  • "Misery" - Maroon 5
January 8, 2011
18 Top Ten Best Hit Songs of 2010 Sweet relief from MRSA... Can Todd find anything redeemable for what he considers to be a pretty bad year for pop music?
  • 10. "Magic" - B.o.B ft. Rivers Cuomo
  • 9. "Find Your Love" - Drake
  • 8. "Empire State of Mind" - Jay-Z ft. Alicia Keys
  • 7. "Rude Boy" - Rihanna
  • 6. "Animal" - Neon Trees
  • 5. "Teenage Dream" - Katy Perry
  • 4. "DJ Got Us Fallin' in Love" - Usher ft. Pitbull
  • 3. "Nothin' on You" - B.o.B ft. Bruno Mars
  • 2. "California Gurls" - Katy Perry ft. Snoop Dogg
  • 1. "Need You Now" - Lady Antebellum

Additionally, Todd mentions that these songs could have made the list if they made the Billboard Year-End Hot 100 list for 2010.

  • "Fuck You!" - Cee-Lo Green
  • "From Above" - Ben Folds & Nick Hornby
  • "In Sleep" - Lissie
  • "How I Got Over" - The Roots
  • "Old Man Chicago" - Alberta Cross
  • "Monster" - Lady Gaga
  • "Fire Bomb" - Rihanna
  • "I Was a Teenage Anarchist" - Against Me!
  • "Radioactive" - Kings of Leon
  • "Gold Guns Girls" - Metric
  • "Shutterbugg" - Big Boi ft. Cutty
  • "Little Lion Man" - Mumford and Sons
January 29, 2011
19 "The Time (Dirty Bit)" by The Black Eyed Peas Todd witnesses the fall of The Black Eyed Peas. February 14, 2011
20 "Tonight..." by Enrique Iglesias feat. Ludacris Wait... you're doing what tonight, Enrique? February 26, 2011
21 "Black and Yellow" by Wiz Khalifa You may know what it is, Wiz, but we don't. March 12, 2011
22 "Grenade" by Bruno Mars Someone put Bruno on suicide watch, please. March 27, 2011
23 The Top Ten Worst Hit Songs of 1976 Proof positive that when the good is really good, the bad is really bad. (It starts with him thinking of "Backseat" by New Boyz ft. The Cataracs & Dev, and refusing to review it, turning to a random draw from his stack of Billboard Year-End lists instead.)
  • 10. "Shannon" - Henry Gross
  • 9. "Shop Around" - The Captain & Tennille
  • 8. "If You Leave Me Now" - Chicago
  • 7. "Only Sixteen" - Dr. Hook
  • 6. "Get Up and Boogie" - Silver Convention
  • 5. "Disco Duck" - Rick Dees & His Cast of Idiots
  • 4. "Let Her In" - John Travolta
  • 3. "I Write the Songs" - Barry Manilow
  • 2. "Convoy" - C.W. McCall
  • 1. "Afternoon Delight" - Starland Vocal Band
April 14, 2011
24 "Firework" by Katy Perry vs. "Born This Way" by Lady Gaga The woman who fascinates Todd vs. the woman who disgusts Todd. May 9, 2011
25 "S&M" by Rihanna Todd takes on his first song by Rihanna. May 28, 2011
26 Top 5 Awful Moments From U2's "Rattle and Hum" Todd in the Shadows takes a look at one of his favorite band's most embarrassing moments.
  • 5. The first two seconds of the movie
  • 4. I'm goin' to Graceland
  • 3. Gall Along the Watchtower
  • 2. Bono has a little something to say about apartheid
  • 1. MLK
June 11, 2011
27 "The Lazy Song" by Bruno Mars Bruno Mars gives you some truth in advertising. June 26, 2011
28 "E.T." by Katy Perry ft. Kanye West Katy Perry is an alien sex fiend. (And Yeezy's scarier than ever.) July 12, 2011
29 "Party Rock Anthem" by LMFAO ft. Lauren Bennett & GoonRock These guys want to party all the time, party all the time, party all the ti-ime... August 10, 2011
30 "Give Me Everything" by Pitbull ft. Ne-Yo, Afrojack & Nayer Give Pitbull everything. Tonight. August 28, 2011
31 "Tonight, Tonight" by Hot Chelle Rae Hot Chelle Rae are bringing rock music back to the charts! ...Or not.

(Note: This is the first episode in which Todd and his piano are in a new location facing to the left.)

September 16, 2011
32 "If I Die Young" by The Band Perry The Band Perry have some detailed instructions for their undertakers. September 27, 2011
33 Top Ten Songs About Mediocre Romance You are sooooo adequate...to me.
  • 10. "Stuck with You" - Huey Lewis & the News
  • 9. "Escape (The Pina Colada Song)" - Rupert Holmes
  • 8. "She's Always a Woman" - Billy Joel
  • 7. "The One I Love" - R.E.M.
  • 6. "Better Man" - Pearl Jam
  • 5. "Love the One You're With" - Stephen Stills
  • 4. "Third Rate Romance" - Amazing Rhythm Aces (clips of the Sammy Kershaw version are used)
  • 3. "The Most Beautiful Girl in the Room" - Flight of the Conchords
  • 2. "Two Out of Three Ain't Bad" - Meat Loaf
  • 1. "Breakfast at Tiffany's" - Deep Blue Something
October 10, 2011
34 "Moves Like Jagger" by Maroon 5 ft. Christina Aguilera Todd can't get no satisfaction from Maroon 5. October 22, 2011
35 "Lighters" by Bad Meets Evil ft. Bruno Mars Eminem and Bruno Mars want me to raise my lighter. REQUEST DENIED. November 12, 2011
36 "Sexy and I Know It" by LMFAO I'm nauseous and I know it. November 22, 2011
37 "5 O'Clock" by T-Pain ft. Wiz Khalifa & Lily Allen It's too early for this, T-Pain. December 13, 2011
38 "Mistletoe" by Justin Bieber Pucker up. December 17, 2011
39 The Top Ten Worst Hit Songs of 2011 Wanna know what Todd hated this year more than anything else? Check it out here! January 2, 2012
40 The Top Ten Best Hit Songs of 2011 Let's see how Todd humiliates himself this year.
  • 10. "More (Remix)" - Usher
  • 9. "Moment 4 Life" - Nicki Minaj ft. Drake
  • 8. "Someone Like You" - Adele
  • 7. "Pumped Up Kicks" - Foster the People
  • 6. "The Show Goes On" - Lupe Fiasco
  • 5. "Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.)" - Katy Perry
  • 4. "The Edge of Glory" - Lady Gaga
  • 3. "Rolling in the Deep" - Adele
  • 2. "All of the Lights" - Kanye West ft. Rihanna
  • 1. "Fuck You!" - Cee-Lo Green
January 21, 2012
41 "Runaway" by Kanye West (with Rap Critic) Yeezy taught me... how not to make a music video. January 28, 2012
42 "Just a Kiss" by Lady Antebellum Lady Antebellum sing of a love so hot they don't dare go past first base. February 12, 2012
43 "Ni**as in Paris" by Jay-Z & Kanye West Don't let Todd into his zone. February 26, 2012
44 "Turn Up the Music" by Chris Brown And now, a very special episode of Todd in the Shadows. March 11, 2012
45 "Drive By" by Train Nothing's worse than "Hey, Soul Sister"... right? March 24, 2012
46 "Stronger (What Doesn't Kill You)" by Kelly Clarkson Did you miss the first fifty times that Kelly Clarkson sang about being a strong, independent woman? Because she'd be happy to tell you about it again. April 17, 2012
47 "We Are Young" by fun. ft. Janelle Monae and "Somebody That I Used to Know" by Gotye ft. Kimbra fun. featuring Janelle Monae. Gotye featuring Kimbra. Todd featuring Complete bafflement at how these songs got popular. (Not that he's complaining, mind you...) May 17, 2012
48 "Back in Time" by Pitbull The MIB protected the Earth from the scum of the universe, but they couldn't protect us from THIS. June 11, 2012
49 "Call Me Maybe" by Carly Rae Jepsen Hey I just met you, and this is crazy, but this song is overplayed, and "Call Me Maybe" parodies aren't funny. June 23, 2012
50 "Payphone" by Maroon 5 ft. Wiz Khalifa Maroon 5 are calling you from a payphone when they could have saved a lot of money by dialing 1-800-CALL-ATT. July 14, 2012
51 "Titanium" by David Guetta ft. Sia David Guetta is abducting our hipster indie chicks! THIS MAN(?) MUST BE STOPPED. August 13, 2012
52 "Whistle" by Flo Rida Can you spot the subtle innuendo in Flo Rida's latest chart smash? August 30, 2012
53 "Want U Back" by Cher Lloyd ft. Astro If you thought the pop music we made in this country was annoying, you haven't heard what they make in England. September 21, 2012
54 "Gangnam Style" by PSY Ehhhhh sexy lady... Wait, what the hell?? October 17, 2012
55 The Top Ten Worst Hit Songs of 2004 The year was 2004: Kanye was big, we were at war with Afghanistan, an incumbent president won re-election despite intense hatred from the opposing party, there was a lot of lousy music... man, things sure have changed!
  • 10. "With You" - Jessica Simpson
  • 9. "Someday" - Nickelback
  • 8. "Baby Boy" - Beyoncé ft. Sean Paul
  • 7. "The Reason" - Hoobastank
  • 6. "One Call Away" - Chingy ft. J-Weav
  • 5. "Southside" - Lloyd ft. Ashanti
  • 4. "Milkshake" - Kelis
  • 3. "Why" - Jadakiss ft. Anthony Hamilton
  • 2. "Fuck It (I Don't Want You Back)" - Eamon
  • 1. "Just Lose It" - Eminem
November 14, 2012
56 "We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together" by Taylor Swift Like, ever. December 10, 2012
57 The Top Ten Worst Hit Songs of 2012 Get out the Hefty bags, everyone, because it's time to take out last year's garbage.
  • 10. "50 Ways to Say Goodbye" - Train
  • 9. "Where Have You Been" - Rihanna
  • 8. "Back in Time" - Pitbull
  • 7. "Want U Back" - Cher Lloyd
  • 6. "Wanted" - Hunter Hayes
  • 5. "Scream and Shout" - will.i.am ft. Britney Spears
  • 4. "Whistle" - Flo Rida
  • 3. "One More Night" - Maroon 5
  • 2. "Drive By" - Train
  • 1. "Birthday Cake (Remix)" - Rihanna ft. Chris Brown

Note: During the review of "Scream and Shout", Todd says he should have put it at #3, thus "Whistle" has been moved to #5 and "One More Night" to #4.

With a new feature, Honorable Mentions:

  • "The Motto" - Drake ft. Lil Wayne & Tyga
  • "I Won't Give Up" - Jason Mraz
  • "Too Close" - Alex Clare
  • "Starships" - Nicki Minaj
  • "What Makes You Beautiful" - One Direction
  • "One Thing" - One Direction
  • "Brokenhearted" - Karmin
  • "Domino" - Jessie J
  • "Live While We're Young" - One Direction
January 12, 2013
58 The Top Ten Best Hit Songs of 2012 It's Todd's ritual humiliation time.
  • 10. "Young , Wild & Free" - Snoop Dogg & Wiz Khalifa ft Bruno Mars
  • 9. " I Cry" - Flo Rida
  • 8. "Ni**as in Paris" - Jay-Z & Kanye West
  • 7. "It's Time" - Imagine Dragons
  • 6. "Somebody That I Used to Know" - Gotye ft. Kimbra
  • 5. "Die Young" - Ke$ha
  • 4. "Some Nights" - fun.
  • 3. "Locked Out of Heaven" - Bruno Mars
  • 2. "Lights" - Ellie Goulding
  • 1. "Take Care" - Drake ft. Rihanna

Honorable Mentions:

  • "Good Time" - Owl City & Carly Rae Jepsen
  • "Glad You Came" - The Wanted
  • "Red Solo Cup" - Toby Keith
  • "International Love" - Pitbull ft. Chris Brown
  • "Dance (A$$)" - Big Sean ft. Nicki Minaj
  • "Skyfall" - Adele
  • "Gangnam Style" - PSY
January 27, 2013
59 Mac and Devin Go to High School (with Rap Critic!) T-O-Double-Dizzle and the Rap Crizzle take on a Snoop Dogg motion pizzle that's unwatchabizzle. Febuary 3, 2013
60 "Girl on Fire" by Alicia Keys This girl is on fiiiiiiiire! Fire fire fire fire fiiiiiiiire!

(Note: Starting with this episode, Todd and his piano change location yet again, although he is still facing to the left.)

Febuary 24, 2013
61 "Little Things" by One Direction One Direction love all the little things about you. Like the horrified look on your face when they sing you this song. March 16, 2013
62 "Scream and Shout" by will.i.am ft. Britney Spears will.i.am and Britney Spears make Todd want to scream and shout, and break things. March 25, 2013
63 "Thrift Shop" by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis ft. Wanz vs. "Suit & Tie" by Justin Timberlake ft. Jay-Z Justin Timberlake and Macklemore face off on the most compelling issue of our day: Who has better clothes? April 20, 2013
64 Todd and Rap Critic Talk About "Accidental Racist" by Brad Paisley ft. LL Cool J Todd and Rap Critic discuss the most controversial song of the year. April 29, 2013
65 "Feel This Moment" by Pitbull ft. Christina Aguilera Todd resorts to recycling old reviews, since Pitbull apparently can't put any more effort into his music. May 23, 2013
66 "Cruise" by Florida Georgia Line ft. Nelly A country/hip-hop crossover?? That could never work... right? June 7, 2013
67 "Blurred Lines" by Robin Thicke ft. T.I. & Pharrell Williams I know you want it. July 14, 2013
68 "We Can't Stop" by Miley Cyrus vs. "Come & Get It" by Selena Gomez Battle of the former Disney princesses! August 10, 2013
69 "Best Song Ever" by One Direction Okay, One Direction are just baiting me now. August 30, 2013
70 "Applause" by Lady Gaga Does Todd have any applause for Lady Gaga? September 27, 2013
71 "Holy Grail" by Jay-Z ft. Justin Timberlake Jay-Z's quest: To seek the Holy Grail. Is it as amazing as he hoped it would be? October 13, 2013
72 "Gorilla" by Bruno Mars Bruno Mars shocks the monkey. October 30, 2013
73 "Wrecking Ball" by Miley Cyrus Miley Cyrus swings naked on construction equipment. November 22, 2013
74 "Counting Stars" by OneRepublic vs. "Demons" by Imagine Dragons Battle of the Vaguely Indie-Ish Mainstream Middle of the Road Bands! December 11, 2013
75 The Top Ten Worst Hit Songs of 2013 Time to put the nail in the coffin of one of the worst years ever in pop music history.
  • 10. "Let Her Go" - Passenger
  • 9. "Cruise (Remix)"- Florida Georgia Line ft. Nelly
  • 8. "My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark (Light 'Em Up)" - Fall Out Boy
  • 7. "Holy Grail" - Jay-Z ft. Justin Timberlake
  • 6. "Started from the Bottom" - Drake
  • 5. "Bitches Love Me" - Lil Wayne ft. Drake & Future
  • 4. "Demons" - Imagine Dragons
  • 3. "Feel This Moment" - Pitbull ft. Christina Aguilera
  • 2. "#thatPOWER" - will.i.am ft. Justin Bieber
  • 1. "Roar" - Katy Perry

Honorable Mentions:

  • "22" - Taylor Swift
  • "Hold On, We're Going Home" - Drake ft. Majid Jordan
  • "Scream & Shout" - will.i.am ft. Britney Spears
  • "Stay the Night" - Zedd ft. Hayley Williams
  • "Come & Get It" - Selena Gomez
  • "Blurred Lines" - Robin Thicke ft. T.I. & Pharrell Williams
  • "Daylight" - Maroon 5
  • "I Knew You Were Trouble" - Taylor Swift
  • "Harlem Shake" - Baauer
January 11, 2014
76 The Top Ten Best Hit Songs of 2013 Even in the worst years for pop music, the gems stand out.
  • 10. "Sweater Weather" - The Neighbourhood
  • 9. "#Beautiful" - Mariah Carey ft. Miguel
  • 8. "Thrift Shop" - Macklemore & Ryan Lewis ft. Wanz
  • 7. "Can't Hold Us" - Macklemore & Ryan Lewis ft. Ray Dalton
  • 6. "Best Song Ever" - One Direction
  • 5. "Suit & Tie" - Justin Timberlake ft. Jay-Z
  • 4. "Do What U Want" - Lady Gaga ft. R. Kelly
  • 3. "Swimming Pools (Drank)" - Kendrick Lamar
  • 2. "Treasure" - Bruno Mars
  • 1. "Get Lucky" - Daft Punk ft. Pharrell Williams & Nile Rodgers

Honorable Mentions:

  • "The Way" - Ariana Grande ft. Mac Miller
  • "Clarity" - Zedd ft. Foxes
  • "Royals" - Lorde
  • "I Will Wait" - Mumford & Sons
  • "Safe and Sound" - Capital Cities
January 27, 2014
77 "Dark Horse" by Katy Perry ft. Juicy J Are you ready for ready for, a worthless song worthless song? February 23, 2014
78 "Talk Dirty" by Jason Derulo ft. 2 Chainz Jasooooooon Deruuuuuuuulo returns with a song that makes "Whatcha Say" sound classy. March 9, 2014
79 "Pompeii" by Bastille Ay-oh, ay-oh, ay, ay-oh ay-oh. March 24, 2014
80 "All of Me" by John Legend Todd engages in some dueling pianos with John Legend. April 11, 2014
81 "#SELFIE" by The Chainsmokers GIRLS ARE DUMB LOL April 29, 2014
82 "Turn Down for What" by DJ Snake ft. Lil Jon WHAT?? YEAH!! OKAY!!!! May 19, 2014
83 "Wiggle" by Jason Derulo ft. Snoop Dogg Worst song of the decade. Not joking. WARNING: DO NOT CLICK ON THIS VIDEO June 9, 2014
84 "Fancy" by Iggy Azalea ft. Charli XCX She's so phony, you already know... June 27, 2014
85 "Rude" by MAGIC! MAGIC! teach you a lesson in manners, reggae-style! July 10, 2014
86 "Shake It Off" by Taylor Swift Taylor Swift shakes off her artistic credibility. September 14, 2014
87 "All About That Bass" by Meghan Trainor Bass, how low can you go? September 23, 2014
88 "Anaconda" by Nicki Minaj Oh my god, look at her butt. *Look at her butt.* YOU WILL LOOK AT IT. October 23, 2014
89 "Bang Bang" by Jessie J, Ariana Grande & Nicki Minaj Bang bang, on the door, baby. November 13, 2014
90 "Blank Space" by Taylor Swift It’s a love story, baby just say ye–OH GOD PUT DOWN THE KNIFE! December 15, 2014
91 The Top Ten Worst Hit Songs of 2014 Good riddance. (To be continued.) (Part 1)
The thrilling conclusion! (Part 2)
  • 10. "Animals" - Maroon 5
  • 9. "Shake It Off" - Taylor Swift
  • 8. "This Is How We Roll" - Florida Georgia Line ft. Luke Bryan
  • 7. "She Looks So Perfect" - 5 Seconds of Summer
  • 6. "Show Me" - Kid Ink ft. Chris Brown
  • 5. "Black Widow" - Iggy Azalea ft. Rita Ora
  • 4. "Trumpets" - Jason Derulo
  • 3. "Loyal" - Chris Brown ft. Lil Wayne & Tyga
  • 2. "#SELFIE" - The Chainsmokers
  • 1. "Wiggle" - Jason Derulo ft. Snoop Dogg

Honorable Mentions:

  • "Don't Tell 'Em" - Jeremih ft. YG
  • "Me and My Broken Heart" - Rixton
  • "All of Me" - John Legend
  • "Take Me to Church" - Hozier
  • "Not a Bad Thing" - Justin Timberlake
  • "Dark Horse" - Katy Perry ft. Juicy J
  • "Anaconda" - Nicki Minaj

(Note: Due to the length of the script, the list was split between two videos, which also goes with all Top 10 lists from this one onward.)

January 20, 2015
92 The Top Ten Best Hit Songs of 2014 Surely there had to be some good songs in 2014, right? (Part 1)
(aka: The good half of the best list) (Part 2)
  • 10. "Love Me Harder" - Ariana Grande ft. The Weeknd
  • 9. "Happy" - Pharrell Williams
  • 8. "Sing" - Ed Sheeran
  • 7. "Don't" - Ed Sheeran
  • 6. "Birthday" - Katy Perry
  • 5. "Ain't It Fun" - Paramore
  • 4. "Chandelier" - Sia
  • 3. "Rather Be" - Clean Bandit ft. Jess Glynne
  • 2. "Boom Clap" - Charli XCX
  • 1. "Uptown Funk" - Mark Ronson ft. Bruno Mars

Honorable Mentions

  • "A Sky Full of Stars" - Coldplay
  • "Latch" - Disclosure ft. Sam Smith
  • "La La La" - Naughty Boy ft. Sam Smith
  • "Turn Down for What" - DJ Snake ft. Lil Jon
  • "Anaconda" - Nicki Minaj
January 31, 2015 (Part 1)
February 1, 2015 (Part 2)
93 "Jealous" by Nick Jonas I'm jealous of Nick Jonas's biceps, which is weird. February 18, 2015
94 The Top Ten Worst Hit Songs of 1991 Yo, it's about that time, to bring forth the rhythm and the rhyme. (Part 1)
Todd is losing his religion. (Part 2)
  • 10. "Iesha" - Another Bad Creation
  • 9. "Rico Suave" - Gerardo
  • 8. "I'm Your Baby Tonight" - Whitney Houston
  • 7. "The Way You Do the Things You Do" - UB40
  • 6. "Play That Funky Music" - Vanilla Ice
  • 5. "One More Try" - Timmy T.
  • 4. "Because I Love You (The Postman Song)" - Stevie B.
  • 3. "Justify My Love" - Madonna
  • 2. "From a Distance" - Bette Midler
  • 1. "(Everything I Do) I Do It for You" - Bryan Adams
April 23, 2015
95 "Thinking Out Loud" by Ed Sheeran Ed Sheeran has Todd thinking too hard. May 26, 2015
96 "Dear Future Husband" by Meghan Trainor Meghan Trainor is all about that '50s gender roles. June 30, 2015
97 "See You Again" by Wiz Khalifa ft. Charlie Puth Todd isn't a fan of the newest #1 single, and he'll tell you all about it when he sees you again. July 17, 2015
98 "Watch Me (Whip/Nae Nae)" by Silento Todd's gonna try to dance, and he'd prefer if you didn't watch him, honestly. August 26, 2015
99 "The Hills" by The Weeknd Run to the hills! Run for your life! September 28, 2015
100 "Uma Thurman" by Fall Out Boy Todd in the Shadows's just barely-on-time Halloween episode! October 31, 2015
101 "What Do You Mean?" by Justin Bieber vs. "Stitches" by Shawn Mendes There can be only one annoying Canadian pretty boy! November 20, 2015
102 "Hello" by Adele vs. "Hotline Bling" by Drake Don't leave me hanging on the telephone... December 25, 2015
103 The Top Ten Worst Hit Songs of 2015 Now we've got bad songs. (Part 1)
Now we've got more bad songs. (Part 2)
  • 10. "Nasty Freestyle" - T-Wayne
  • 9. "Girl Crush" - Little Big Town
  • 8. "Only" - Nicki Minaj ft. Drake, Lil Wayne & Chris Brown
  • 7. "Same Old Love" - Selena Gomez
  • 6. "Dear Future Husband" - Meghan Trainor
  • 5. "Watch Me (Whip/Nae Nae)" - Silentó
  • 4. "Bad Blood" - Taylor Swift ft. Kendrick Lamar
  • 3. "Worth It" - Fifth Harmony ft. Kid Ink
  • 2. "Fight Song" - Rachel Platten
  • 1. "Marvin Gaye" - Charlie Puth ft. Meghan Trainor

Honorable Mentions:

  • "Sugar" - Maroon 5
  • "CoCo" - O.T. Genasis
  • "Sorry" - Justin Bieber
  • "Hit the Quan" - iLoveMemphis
  • "Stitches" - Shawn Mendes
  • "Chains" - Nick Jonas
  • "I Don't Mind" - Usher ft. Juicy J
  • "Locked Away" - R. City ft. Adam Levine
January 13, 2016
104 The Top Ten Best Hit Songs of 2015 The year that was. (Part 1)
More of the year that was. (Part 2)
  • 10. "Downtown" - Macklemore & Ryan Lewis ft. Melle Mel, Kool Moe Dee, Grandmaster Caz & Eric Nally
  • 9. "Wildest Dreams" - Taylor Swift
  • 8. "Ex's & Oh's" - Elle King
  • 7. "I Don't Fuck With You" - Big Sean ft. E-40
  • 6. "Can't Feel My Face" - The Weeknd
  • 5. "FourFiveSeconds" - Rihanna, Kanye West & Paul McCartney
  • 4. "Lean On" - Major Lazer & DJ Snake ft. MØ
  • 3. "Shut Up and Dance" - Walk the Moon
  • 2. "Cool for the Summer" - Demi Lovato
  • 1. "Style" - Taylor Swift

Honorable Mentions:

  • "What Do You Mean?" - Justin Bieber
  • "Hello" - Adele
  • "Run Away with Me" - Carly Rae Jepsen
  • "Back to Back" - Drake
  • "Time of Our Lives" - Pitbull ft. Ne-Yo
  • "Uptown Funk" - Mark Ronson ft. Bruno Mars
January 29, 2016
105 "Sorry" by Justin Bieber Sorry seems to be the hardest word March 17, 2016
106 "I Took a Pill In Ibiza" by Mike Posner ...Yeah, I'm as shocked as you. April 28, 2016
107 "7 Years" by Lukas Graham There is something rotten in the state of Denmark. June 22, 2016
108 "PILLOWTALK" by ZAYN A massively late look at the One Direction kid's first solo hit. July 22, 2016
109 "This Is What You Came For" by Calvin Harris ft. Rihanna vs. "Cheap Thrills" by Sia I don't need dollar bills to have lightning strikes every time she moves! August 21, 2016
110 "Treat You Better" by Shawn Mendes The new song by Shawn M'endes... October 20, 2016
111 "Closer" by The Chainsmokers ft. Halsey Hey, who took my mattress? November 17, 2016
112 "Black Beatles" by Rae Sremmurd ft. Gucci Mane Sgt. Sremmurd's Lonely Hearts Club Band?? December 18, 2016
113 The Top Ten Worst Hit Songs of 2016 Was it really the worst year ever? ...Yes. Yes, it was.
  • 10. "Sit Still, Look Pretty" - Daya
  • 9. "Jumpman" - Drake & Future
  • 8. "Lost Boy" - Ruth B
  • 7. "Bad Things" - Machine Gun Kelly ft. Camila Cabello
  • 6. "Juju On That Beat" - Zay Hilfigerrr & Zayion McCall
  • 5. "Treat You Better" - Shawn Mendes
  • 4. "Don't Let Me Down" - The Chainsmokers ft. Daya
  • 3. "PILLOWTALK" - ZAYN
  • 2. "I Hate U, I Love U" - gnash ft. Olivia O'Brien
  • 1. "7 Years" - Lukas Graham

Honorable mentions:

  • "Close" - Nick Jonas ft. Tove Lo
  • "One Call Away" - Charlie Puth
  • "Just Like Fire" - P!nk
  • "Love Yourself" - Justin Bieber
  • "Me, Myself & I" - G-Eazy & Bebe Rexha
  • "Unsteady" - X Ambassadors
  • "Scars to Your Beautiful" - Alessia Cara
January 10, 2017
114 The Top Ten Best Hit Songs of 2016 Was it really the worst year ever? ...Yes. Yes, it was. But there were some good songs though!
  • 10. "Adventure of a Lifetime" - Coldplay
  • 9. "Sorry" - Beyoncé
  • 8. "Too Good" - Drake ft. Rihanna
  • 7. "Cake by the Ocean" - DNCE
  • 6. "When We Were Young" - Adele
  • 5. "Starboy" - The Weeknd ft. Daft Punk
  • 4. "I Took a Pill in Ibiza (SeeB Remix)" - Mike Posner
  • 3. "Into You" - Ariana Grande
  • 2. "24K Magic" - Bruno Mars
  • 1. "Closer" - The Chainsmokers ft. Halsey

Honorable mentions:

  • "Perfect" - One Direction
  • "All the Way Up" - Fat Joe & Remy Ma ft. French Montana & Infrared
  • "Cheap Thrills" - Sia
  • "Can't Stop the Feeling!" - Justin Timberlake
  • "The Sound" - The 1975
  • "Kids" - OneRepublic
  • "This Girl" - Kungs vs. Cookin' on 3 Burners
  • "Roses" - The Chainsmokers ft. Rozes (retroactively added during the "Closer" segment)
January 28, 2017
115 "Scars to Your Beautiful" by Alessia Cara I'm ugly on the inside! February 22, 2017
116 "Shape of You" by Ed Sheeran I really, really did not want to imagine Ed Sheeran's O-face. Thanks for that, Ed. April 5, 2017
117 "Bad and Boujee" by Migos ft. Lil Uzi Vert Raindrop... drop top... I don't really get this song a whole lot lot. April 21, 2017
118 "Body Like a Back Road" by Sam Hunt I know this is not a newsflash, but country music has gotten very, very stupid. May 19, 2017
119 "Something Just Like This" by The Chainsmokers ft. Coldplay Girl, I can't be your Superman. June 22, 2017
120 "Despacito" by Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee ft. Justin Bieber What's the key to getting songs in any genre to the top of the charts? Aw shit, throw some Bieber on it! July 19, 2017
121 "I'm the One" by DJ Khaled ft. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance the Rapper & Lil Wayne/"Wild Thoughts" by DJ Khaled ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller Another one! We the best music! Look, I'm just like DJ Khaled! August 19, 2017
122 "Look What You Made Me Do" by Taylor Swift Taylor Swift completes her long, slow descent into the vapid, obnoxious pop star we knew she was always going to be. September 15, 2017
123 "Thunder" by Imagine Dragons/"Feel It Still" by Portugal. The Man Is it just me or has indie rock lost its indie mojo in the Commercials Era of music? November 14, 2017
124 The Top Ten Worst Hit Songs of 2017 Good Riddance, 2017
  • 10. "Thunder" - Imagine Dragons
  • 9. "What Lovers Do" - Maroon 5 ft. SZA
  • 8. "Perfect Duet" - Ed Sheeran & Beyoncé
  • 7. "Believer" - Imagine Dragons
  • 6. "I Don't Wanna Live Forever" - ZAYN ft. Taylor Swift
  • 5. "Gucci Gang" - Lil Pump
  • 4. "Shape of You" - Ed Sheeran
  • 3. "Body Like a Back Road" - Sam Hunt
  • 2. "Look What You Made Me Do" - Taylor Swift
  • 1. "...Ready For It?" - Taylor Swift

Honorable Mentions

  • "1-800-273-8255" - Logic ft. Alessia Cara & Khalid
  • "Issues" - Julia Michaels
  • "Slow Hands" - Niall Horan
  • "Swalla" - Jason Derulo ft. Nicki Minaj and Ty Dolla $ign
  • "What About Us" - Pink
  • "Starving" - Hailee Steinfeld ft. Grey & Zedd
  • "Rolex" - Ayo & Teo
January 1, 2018
125 The Top Ten Best Hit Songs of 2017 Todd's favorite songs of 2017, featuring several unavoidable appearances by Quavo.
  • 10. "Congratulations" - Post Malone ft. Quavo
  • 9. "Chained to the Rhythm" - Katy Perry ft. Skip Marley
  • 8. "Passionfruit" - Drake
  • 7. "Water Under the Bridge" - Adele
  • 6. "Praying" - Kesha
  • 5. "Castle on the Hill" - Ed Sheeran
  • 4. "Slide" - Calvin Harris ft. Frank Ocean & Migos
  • 3. "Attention" - Charlie Puth
  • 2. "Paris" - The Chainsmokers
  • 1. "Green Light" - Lorde

Honorable Mentions

  • "XO TOUR LLIF3" - Lil Uzi Vert
  • "Feel It Still" - Portugal. The Man
  • "Love Galore" - SZA ft. Travis Scott
  • "Too Good at Goodbyes" - Sam Smith
  • "There's Nothing Holdin' Me Back" - Shawn Mendes
  • "The Story of O.J." - Jay-Z
  • "Want You Back" - Haim
  • "Hard Times" - Paramore
  • "Cut to the Feeling" - Carly Rae Jepsen
January 22, 2018
126 "Filthy" by Justin Timberlake Haters are going to say it's fake. Or that it's impossibly lame. Poor Justin. February 21, 2018
127 "God's Plan" by Drake Todd's plan is to try and figure out why "God's Plan" is so popular April 14, 2018
128 "Freaky Friday" by Lil Dicky ft. Chris Brown Todd reviews Lil Dicky's comedy smash! Is awkwardness and douche-chills the same thing as amusement? Let's find out! April 28, 2018
129 "The Middle" by Zedd & Maren Morris ft. Grey/"Meant to Be" by Bebe Rexha & Florida Georgia Line Pop music is collapsing in relevance, and there's only one avenue left to stay popular. Yes, that's right, it's time to lean on country music for support. Huh? May 26, 2018
130 "This Is America" by Childish Gambino Todd releases his long-awaited thoughts on Donald Glover's magnum opus. Surprise: He's way out of his depth! July 14, 2018
131 "Better Now" by Post Malone/"Lucid Dreams" by Juice WRLD Get ready for the mopey, depressing new genre called "emo rap"! August 24, 2018
132 "Girls Like You" by Maroon 5 ft. Cardi B Ladies and gentlemen, your Super Bowl LIII halftime show performers! You wanted the best, you got the best, the hottest band in the world.... wait, seriously, these guys? October 1, 2018
133 "Happier" by Marshmello & Bastille Come on get happier? Can Marshmello and Bastille shake pop music out of its doldrums? November 30, 2018
134 The Top Ten Worst Hit Songs of 2018 What a wretched year! Good riddance to a dismal twelve months in pop history.
  • 10. "Psycho" - Post Malone ft. Ty Dolla $ign
  • 9. "Lucid Dreams" - Juice WRLD
  • 8. "End Game" - Taylor Swift ft. Ed Sheeran & Future
  • 7. "Never Be the Same" - Camila Cabello
  • 6. "River" - Eminem ft. Ed Sheeran
  • 5. "I Love It" - Kanye West & Lil Pump ft. Adele Givens
  • 4. "Freaky Friday" - Lil Dicky ft. Chris Brown
  • 3. "Yes Indeed" - Lil Baby ft. Drake
  • 2. "Filthy" - Justin Timberlake
  • 1. "Girls Like You" - Maroon 5 ft. Cardi B

Honorable Mentions

  • "Broken" - lovelytheband
  • "Wait" - Maroon 5
  • "Back to You" - Selena Gomez
  • "Natural" - Imagine Dragons
  • "High Hopes" - Panic! at the Disco
  • "Mine" - Bazzi
  • "Gummo" - 6ix9ine
December 23, 2018
135 The Top Ten Best Hit Songs of 2018 Todd spends all year complaining that pop music is dead and then he admits he was completely wrong! Find out what he actually liked this year.
  • 10. "Finesse (Remix)" - Bruno Mars ft. Cardi B
  • 9. "New Rules" - Dua Lipa
  • 8. "SICKO MODE" - Travis Scott ft. Drake
  • 7. "Love Lies" - Khalid & Normani
  • 6. "Boo'd Up" - Ella Mai
  • 5. "I Like It" - Cardi B, Bad Bunny & J Balvin
  • 4. "Chun-Li" - Nicki Minaj
  • 3. "thank u, next" - Ariana Grande
  • 2. "Nice for What" - Drake
  • 1. "breathin" - Ariana Grande

Honorable Mentions

  • "Electricity" - Silk City (Diplo & Mark Ronson) & Dua Lipa
  • "LOVE." - Kendrick Lamar ft. Zacari
  • "Pray for Me" - The Weeknd & Kendrick Lamar
  • "Ric Flair Drip" - Offset ft. 21 Savage & Metro Boomin
  • "I Like Me Better" - Lauv
  • "The Way I Am" - Charlie Puth
  • "Make Me Feel" - Janelle Monáe
  • "High Horse" - Kacey Musgraves
January 12, 2019
136 "Without Me" by Halsey Halsey: The new pop star for the apocalyptic wasteland! February 17, 2019
137 "7 rings" by Ariana Grande Ariana Grande spends her way into controversy and forces me to talk about a lot of difficult topics I hate talking about. March 1, 2019
138 "Old Town Road (Remix)" by Lil Nas X ft. Billy Ray Cyrus Is it country? Rap? Wack with a cape? A victim of Billboard's racial biases? Todd untangles his complicated feelings about the latest craze. May 1, 2019
139 "Earth" by Lil Dicky What's the bigger disaster, climate change or the charity single Lil Dicky released to (sorta, kinda, not really) raise awareness? May 16, 2019
140 "ME!" by Taylor Swift ft. Brendon Urie of Panic! at the Disco Taylor Swift learns to love herself... yay? We learn that you can't spell AWESOME without ME but you can't spell LAME without it either, and what the hell happened to Panic! at the Disco anyway? June 1, 2019
141 "I Don't Care" by Ed Sheeran & Justin Bieber Ed Sheeran and Justin Bieber want you to know that they don't care, and boy do they sound like it. June 17, 2019
142 "You Need to Calm Down" by Taylor Swift Taylor finally takes a stand... maybe? It's a rainbow-colored mess but as with all things Taylor you can't look away. June 30, 2019
143 "Don't Call Me Angel" by Ariana Grande, Miley Cyrus & Lana Del Rey Charlie, how your angels get down like that? And how did they make no one excited for this new movie? October 1, 2019
144 "Someone You Loved" by Lewis Capaldi NOT GOOD November 28, 2019
145 The Top Ten Worst Hit Songs of 2019 One critic bravely dares to be excessively negative!
  • 10. "Only Human" - Jonas Brothers
  • 9. "Knockin' Boots" - Luke Bryan
  • 8. "Worth It" - YK Osiris
  • 7. "One Thing Right" - Marshmello & Kane Brown
  • 6. "Baby" - Lil Baby & DaBaby
  • 5. "I Don't Care" - Ed Sheeran & Justin Bieber
  • 4. "Someone You Loved" - Lewis Capaldi
  • 3. "Trampoline" - SHAED
  • 2. "Memories" - Maroon 5
  • 1. "Earth" - Lil Dicky

Honorable Mentions

  • "Going Bad" - Meek Mill ft. Drake
  • "ME!" - Taylor Swift ft. Brendon Urie of Panic! at the Disco
  • "You Need to Calm Down" - Taylor Swift
  • "Beautiful" - Bazzi ft. Camila Cabello
  • "break up with your girlfriend, i'm bored" - Ariana Grande
  • "Sweet but Psycho" - Ava Max
December 22, 2019
146 The Top Ten Best Hit Songs of 2019 Are you ready for the greatest?
  • 10. "Hey Look Ma, I Made It" - Panic! at the Disco
  • 9. "Old Town Road (Remix)" - Lil Nas X ft. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • 8. "Hot Girl Summer" - Megan Thee Stallion ft. Nicki Minaj & Ty Dolla Sign
  • 7. "a lot" - 21 Savage ft. J. Cole
  • 6. "Circles" - Post Malone
  • 5. "Boy With Luv" - BTS ft. Halsey
  • 4. "Dancing With a Stranger" - Sam Smith ft. Normani
  • 3. "Never Really Over" - Katy Perry
  • 2. "INTRO" - DaBaby
  • 1. "bad guy" - Billie Eilish

Honorable Mentions

  • "Eastside" - Benny Blanco, Halsey & Khalid
  • "Sunflower" - Post Malone & Swae Lee
  • "Money" - Cardi B
  • "Shallow (Live at the 2019 Academy Awards)" - Lady Gaga & Bradley Cooper
  • "Too Much" - Carly Rae Jepsen
  • "The Archer" - Taylor Swift
  • "I Think I'm Okay" - Machine Gun Kelly, Yungblud & Travis Barker
  • "Juice" - Lizzo
January 16, 2020
147 "Yummy" by Justin Bieber Is Justin Bieber headed towards a total career collapse? Let's look at the damage done by his awful new single, "Yummy". February 23, 2020
148 "Toosie Slide" by Drake The dance sensation for the quarantine generation sweeping the stressed-out nation. May 18, 2020

LinksEdit

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.